Faculty Council

JFV Ouranos is a student representative party in the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Law.

During the elections in May 2018 JFV Ouranos was voted into the council with 5 (out of 6) seats. Meagan Bruma, Bas van der Avoird, Fleur Modderman, Hakim Aknouz and Floris van der Meer will strive to represent every law student to the best of their abilities, as student members of the Council in the academic year 2018-2019. Their election programme, containing their objectives for the upcoming year, can be viewed here.

If you have any questions or want to raise an issue to one of the Council members, you can send an e-mail to: info@jfvouranos.nl.

More information Faculty Council

The Faculty Council (FR) consists of representatives of the academic staff, the administrative and support staff, and students. They are elected by and from their own sections for a period of two years, with the exception of students, who are elected for one year only. The members of the Faculty Council convene together with the Faculty Board about once every five weeks on Wednesday afternoon. These meetings are open to all faculty staff and students, who can attend these meetings as auditors.

Although the powers of the Faculty Council have changed following the introduction of the new MUB Act on modernisation of university organisations, its influence is still considerable: the Faculty Council has the power of consent concerning the faculty regulations, parts of the Education and Examinations Regulations, decisions concerning guidelines for the academic research, and decisions concerning integral policy notes about education, research and international affairs. In addition, the Faculty Council has the power of advice regarding, for example, appointments of professors and the faculty budget.

Pin It on Pinterest